Daft Punk – Random Access Memories Album Review

Everyone’s been bangin on about the latest Daft Punk album, Random Access Memories recently, and I have to admit, I was really looking forward to it’s release – but is it actually any good? It’s the fourth studio album from the French Duo and is the first to feature recordings by live session musicians. It has collaborations with Pharrell Williams and Nile Rodgers, among others – and you’ve probably heard the album’s first single, Get Lucky a lot recently. If you’re anything like me, you’re actually sick to death of it by now. The video clip included here is a sort of remix called Goat Lucky and has some amusing bleating goats in there. Well worth having a listen!

As for the album then – it’s a bit of a mixed bag. I really did want to like it, but I don’t think it flows together very well and some of it is totally pretentious art-wank cock piss. Take track 3, Giorgio for example; it is merely a very dull monolugue. Fuck off, Daft Punk. Touch is also dreadful and sounds like a number from Bugsy Malone. The tracks that are good are very good, however. Instant Crush has vocals by Julian Casablancas from The Strokes and is a real highlight, as is Lose Yourself to Dance, featuring Pharrell Williams. My favourite track is the last one, Contact, and sounds more like the old Daft punk we know and love. I think on the whole the album was a nice try, but it’s just not my bag. Everyone else in the world seems to be going mad for it, but fuck that – I’m a music journalist – my opinion is worth more than yours!

Track rundown:

1. Give life Back to Music – good opener

2. The Game of Love – not bad

3. Giorgio by Moroder – bollocks of the highest order

4. Within – dreary but ok

5. Instant Crush – really very good

6. Lose Yourself to Dance – another really good ‘un

7. Touch – complete and utter gash

8. Get Lucky – bored of this now, but I did like it to begin with

9. Beyond – pretty good

10. Motherboard – top tune

11. Fragments of Time – funky

12. Doin’ it Right – ok-ish. Nothing special

13. Contact – fucking wicked


Music, Video


This is a personal website and the views expressed here are my own (or stolen from other people down the pub). Facts may not be accurate, or could be poorly paraphrased gags borrowed from proper writers - or simply, outright lies.